Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Six are seeking a seat on city council

Six people have filed to run for three open seats on Walterboro City Council, with two of those council members being incumbents.
There are three seats up for grabs on city council. The six candidates who have filed are Chrissy Johnson, Judy Bridge, Paul Seigel, Ladson Fishburne, Gale Doggette and Emma K. Levine.
All candidates are non-partisan, meaning there is no political affiliation required to be on the city’s council.
Filing for the city council election opened on Aug. 27th and closed on Friday, Sept. 6th.
The city’s Municipal Election Commission met on Friday to certify the candidates who have filed to run. The actual election will be held on Nov. 5th.
The seats on Walterboro City Council that are up for re-election are currently being held by Paul N. Siegel, Robert J. “Bobby” Bonds, and Judy S. Bridge.
Siegel has served on Walterboro City Council since July of 2011. He has filed for re-election.
Bonds has served on Walterboro City Council since July of 2011. He did not file again as a candidate.
Bridge has served on council since November of 2013. She has filed to be reinstated onto council.
The new candidates who are seeking office are Johnson, Fishburne, Levine and Doggette.
While filing has closed for city council candidates, there is still time to register to vote in the upcoming election. City residents who aren’t registered to vote can register up until Monday, Oct. 7th. Registration can be done in-person at the Colleton County Voter Registration Office until 5 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 4th. You can also register online at www.scvotes.org.
Anyone who lives inside the city’s limits can be a registered city voter, and anyone with questions about how to register to vote can contact the Colleton County Voter Registration Office at 843-549-2842.
In addition to the City of Walterboro election this year, the towns of Edisto Beach, Lodge, Cottageville and Smoaks are also each having a municipal election on Nov. 5th.

Two Walterboro voting sites are now consolidated into one
In a recent meeting, the Walterboro Election Commission has voted to consolidate the voting precincts of Walterboro No. 4 and Walterboro No. 5. Voters from both precincts will now cast their ballots at the same location: Forest Hills Elementary School, located at 633 Hiers Corner Road.
For the coming election, Walterboro will have five official voting sites: Walterboro No. 1 voters will vote at Dogwood Hills Golf Course; voters from Walterboro No. 2 will vote at the Colleton County Civic Center, located at 494 Hampton Street; voters from Walterboro No. 3 will vote at the Clemson Cooperative Extension Building, located at 611 Black Street; voters from Walterboro precincts 4 and 5 will vote at the Forest Hills Elementary School site; and voters from Walterboro No. 6 will cast their ballots at the Colleton County Fire-Rescue Station No. 24, located at 111 Fox Field Road.
The city operates its own elections, which are managed by the Walterboro Election Commission.

Heather Walters (1738 Posts)