Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

School board names Tindal interim leader of school district

John Tindal has been named the Interim Superintendent of the Colleton County School District.
Tindal was appointed to this temporary position by the Colleton County School Board during their meeting on Feb. 18th. He began his interim work with the school district on Feb. 24th.
According to Sean Gruber, spokesman for the local school district, Tindal was recommended to the Colleton County School Board by S.C. School Board Association.
The Colleton County School Board is paying him $10,416.67 per month.
In addition to Tindal being named the interim leader of the school district, two current leaders will continue to serve in new leadership roles: Jessica Williams has been appointed to the Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction and Cliff Warren has been named the Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Operations.
Prior to being appointed to their respective assistant superintendent roles, both Williams and Warren already held leadership roles within the district.
The school board made all of these new assistant superintendents and interim superintendent appointments after former Superintendent Dr. Franklin Foster abruptly resigned from his post during a special-called school board meeting on Feb. 3rd. The Colleton County School Board subsequently voted unanimously to accept his resignation.
The school board also voted to continue to pay Foster for the remainder of his owed contracted salary. He will also act as a consultant to the district for up to 60 days from the date of his resignation.
Additionally, Tindal will serve as the interim superintendent until the school board selects a new full-time superintendent. This decision will occur after the upcoming November election when a new school board is in place.

That November ballot contains the elections of three of the school board seats, including Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7.
Charles Murdaugh currently holds district 1.
District 3 is held by Sharon Witkin, who is also currently the vice-chair of the school board. Mary T. Jones currently holds district 5, and District 7 is held by Patricia Simmons, the appointed chairwoman of the school board.
According to information provided by Gruber, Interim Superintendent Tindal has more than 40 years of experience in education and has several degrees from both Winthrop University and Morris College. His work experience includes being a teacher, a principal and serving as an associate superintendent in school districts across South Carolina. He has also held several leadership positions in the state’s Superintendent’s Association and the South Carolina Association of School Administrators.
As for Foster, he served as superintendent of the Colleton County School District for five years. In prior interviews with this newspaper, Gruber said the school district’s separation from Foster is “the result of amicable discussion and agreement between Dr. Foster and the board.”
“ … it is not a disciplinary action or related to any allegations of wrongdoing,” said Gruber, in a written statement.
“Dr. Foster was well-known through Coleton County as a dedicated advocate of public education with a progressive leadership style,” said Gruber. “During his time as superintendent, he streamlined the district’s procedures and policies to increase its organizational effectiveness. He also oversaw the construction of a new district office,” said Gruber.

Heather Walters (1715 Posts)