Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Colleton County Federal Disaster Declaration and Flooding Update

Today, President Obama’s major disaster declaration for the State of South Carolina was amended to include Colleton County. This declaration will allow Colleton County residents and businesses to be eligible federal disaster relief funds. Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are included as an attachment to this public notice.

FEMA Disaster recovery information is available at www.scemd.org for businesses and individuals who have major damage. By clicking on FEMA Individual Assistance, you will be taken to www.disasterassistance.gov where you can apply for assistance online. Also available at www.scemd.org is a link to FEMA’s frequently asked questions regarding disasters.

The Edisto River at Givhans Ferry is currently in flood stage at 15.94 feet, and appears to have crested at 16.06 feet yesterday.

The Colleton County Sheriff’s Office is working with local and state agencies to monitor the flooded areas throughout the County. To ensure the safety of citizens and their property, all Colleton County boat landings will be closed until further notice. The sheriff asks everyone to stay away from these areas.

The Sheriff’s Office has also received numerous complaints of boaters creating large wakes as they travel past flooded homes. These wakes are causing homes that are only inches above water to become flooded. “We are implementing No Wake Zones around all homes that are flooded and it will remain in effect until further notice,” said public information officer Shane Roberts.

There is extensive flooding in the area near Highway 61. Portions of Peirce Road are closed. A list of roads currently impacted by flooding is included below. For more information regarding road closures, please go to www.scdot.org and click on road conditions near the bottom of the page.

For anyone who wishes to donate their time or goods, information can be found at www.scemd.org.

For more information, follow us on Facebook (Colleton County Emergency Preparedness Agency-CERT) and Twitter CCEPA-CERT @CocepaCert, or contact Colleton County Emergency Preparedness at 843-549-5632. As always, if you experience an emergency, dial 9-1-1.

Colleton County Roads Impacted by Flooding

Adeline Lane

Backfield Road

Bass Lane

Bean Stick Lane

Bennett’s Point Road (portions)

Biscayne Court

Blackwater Trail

Bobcat Court

Bonnie Doone

Camp Buddy Road

Cannon Road

Cardinal Lane

Catfish Lane

Crab Apple

Daigle Lane

Deepwater Trail

Dodge Lane

Elm Court

Good Hope Landing

Hannibal Drive

Happiness Lane

Hartline Lane

Heavens Hill Court

High Bluff Lane

Hobby Lane

Holly Ridge Lane

Hoot Owl

Hope Plantation Lane

Huckleberry Hill Lane

La Dolce

Lakeview Lane

Last Lane

Liberty Lane

Liza Lane

Long Creek Landing Rd

Maggie Farm

Marble Lane

Mars Oldfield Lane

Meeting House Lane

Mendel Court

Mullet Run Drive

Natures Trail

Parkers Ferry Road

Peirce Road

Perkins Path

Public Landing Road

Pocket Lane

Outwater Lane

Redbreast Court

Rio Vista Lane

Rising Stage Lane

River Birch

River Rest Lane

Ron Court

Rum Bluff Road

Sable Palms

Salcro Lane

Sand Mine Lane

Sandy Landing Lane

Sawyer Lane


Serenity Bluff Lane

Shad Roe

Stump Knocker Road

Sullivans Ferry Road

Sidneys Road (portions)

Thatcher Trail

Trout Lane

Turtle Court

Twain Drive

Wee Hope




On October 5, 2015, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of South Carolina triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from the Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred October 1, 2015, and continuing. This disaster declaration has been amended as indicated below in bold. Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number: FEMA-4241-DR

Incident: Severe Storms and Flooding

Incident Period: October 1, 2015, and continuing

Federal Coordinating Officer: W. Michael Moore

National FCO Program

Individual Assistance (IA): (Assistance for individuals and households):

IA-Designated Counties: Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Greenwood, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg Counties.

Public Assistance (PA): (Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):

PA-Designated Counties: Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B),

including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

Hazard Mitigation (HM): (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards):

HM-Designated Areas: All counties and Indian Tribes in the State of South Carolina are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Individuals in Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Darlington, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg Counties can register with FEMA the following ways:

• Apply online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov.

• Apply via smartphone at m.fema.gov.

• Constituents may call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.