Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Clock ticking for school board seekers

Four candidates have registered to run for open seats on the Colleton County School Board, including two sitting school board members and one new candidate.
Seats for Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7 are open for re-election. Each of the seats are non-partisan and are single-member districts, meaning they are not affiliated with a political party. The election for these seats will be on the November 8th ballot. Filing for interested candidates closes at noon on Friday.
As of press deadline this week, only four people have filed to run for the open seats.
Incumbent for District 1, Charles Murdaugh of Islandton, is seeking re-election. To date, he is the sole candidate for this district.
Incumbents P.A. Pournelle and Mary T. Jones are also seeking re-election. Under newly-drawn district lines, however, the two sitting school board members will now run against each other for District 5. Currently, the two members each sit on the board representing different districts.
The former districts represented by currently-elected school board members have been dissolved, and new district lines were drawn in 2014.
Pournelle is the longest-serving school board member, with more than 30 years under his belt.
Jones is also one of the longest-serving current school board members, and is the current chairwoman of the board. There is new blood in the candidate pool for District 3 with newcomer Noel Ison officially on the ballot to run for this district.
Meanwhile, one sitting school board member is leaving the board in November. Because of the new district lines, incumbent school board member William Bowman is no longer eligible to be re-elected to District 7. Based on the new lines, he is living outside of those lines.
Each of the board’s representatives in all districts serves a 4-year term.
Candidacy for each of the open school board seats opened on July 22 at noon and closes at noon on this Friday, August 5.
Anyone interested in filing for the seats can go to the Colleton County Voter Registration and Elections Office, located at its new office at 2471 Jefferies Highway in Walterboro.
That local office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
All filing for the seats require the potential candidate to fill out the proper forms, and to pay a $20 filing fee.
For more information on filing for these local school board seats, go to www.scvotes.org. At this site, interested candidates can also download the Nonpartisan Statement of Intention of Candidacy Form, which is required by law to file to run for the school board seats.
Any potential candidates must also fill out both a Statement of Economic Interests form and a Campaign Disclosure form. These forms can be completed online at http://ethics.sc.gov.

Heather Walters (881 Posts)