Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

City development commission under new leadershi

Tony Hamilton has been named the new chairperson of the Walterboro Economic Development Commission. Hamilton was nominated and voted into this position by the commission at its September meeting.
Other members of this commission include Peden McLeod, Henry Hiott, Judy Bridge (liaison to Walterboro City Council), George Field, Dr. Gale Reardon, Nicole Holmes and Marvin Jones.
During that September meeting, the commission members also discussed ways to encourage Walterboro residents and/or business owners to better maintain abandoned buildings. According to city Manager and commission member Jeff Molinari, a “great example” of cleaning up abandoned property is the revitalization project of the North Lemacks Street area, where the city identified 30 properties that were in disrepair and not up to the city’s codes. Through a Community Development Block Grant, the city is now working with that community to remove structures that are deemed “beyond a point of no return,” and then revitalizing that community and upgrading many of the streets and neighborhood fixtures.