Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Absentee Ballot deadline approaches

The number of Colleton residents who have already cast a ballot for the upcoming municipal elections is growing, but the local elected leader is reminding voters that the absentee ballot deadline is approaching.
As of Monday, approximately 55 people in Colleton County have already voted via absentee in the Nov. 5th election, according to leaders with the Colleton County Office of Elections and Voter Registration.
Anyone wanting to vote via absentee can do so at the Colleton County Office of Election and Voter Registration.
The upcoming Nov. 5th elections include mayoral and council seats in several towns in Colleton County, including Cottageville, Smoaks, Lodge, Walterboro, and Edisto Beach.
Absentee voting for these elections will continue until the day before the election, on Nov. 4th. However, the deadline to register to vote has already passed: residents must be registered to vote at least 30 days prior to an actual election, according to South Carolina election laws.
As for the actual elections, the Town of Edisto Beach and the City of Walterboro will each conduct their own elections. However, these individual municipal election commissions will use county voting machines and county-trained poll workers.

Walterboro City Council
In Walterboro, six candidates are seeking to win one of the six open spots now open on Walterboro City Council. The candidates are Chrissy Johnson, Judy Bridge, Paul Siegel, Ladson Fishburne, Gale Doggette, and Emma K. Levine.
Bridge and Seigel are incumbents on the city’s council. The city’s Poll Worker Training for the upcoming election started on Oct. 22nd and was managed by the Colleton County Elections Office.

In Cottageville, the town’s mayor, Tim Grimsley, will be automatically reinstated to his post as the town’s leader. In addition to the town’s mayoral spot being open for the upcoming election, the Cottageville Town Council had two slots up for reelection. However, no candidates filed against the incumbents, both of whom filed to run for their current seats. Therefore, incumbent Councilmen Chuck Hudson and Andy Sahlmann are going to be reinstated to their seats on the council.

In Smoaks, the town will have a new mayor, Joseph H. Johns, Jr.
Johns was the only candidate who filed to be the town’s mayor.
For Smoaks Town Council, the two candidates are Linda L. Garris and Shane Campbell. These are the only two seats available on Smoaks Town Council.

In Lodge, the town’s council has two open seats. They will be both be filled by incumbents Joseph Varnadoe and Alex Carter, as no one else filed to seek a seat on the town’ council.

Edisto Beach
Edisto Beach incumbents are also being reinstated to the town’s two open council seats and to the town’s mayoral slot.
Longtime Mayor Jane S. Darby was the only candidate to file for the mayoral seat.
As for the town’s council, the incumbent council members Jerome W. Kizer and Crawford Moore are running again for re-election to Edisto Beach Town Council.

Heather Walters (1583 Posts)