Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Two precincts will merge in coming election

Walterboro’s No. 5 voting precinct will be merged into No. 4 for the city’s upcoming municipal election.
During a Municipal Election Commission meeting on Thursday afternoon, the commission voted unanimously to consolidate the city’s No. 5 precinct into Walterboro No. 4. The effort is being done to save money and because of a potential issue with the No. 5 voting location. “Keeping a poll location open for 51 voters is expensive, and Colleton County Middle School is in session that day. That means voters would be in the school while students are in session,” said Jeff Molinari, city manager. Molinari attended the city’s election meeting on Thursday.
All voters in the No. 5 precinct will receive notification via mail about their change in voting location. Voters in No. 5 will now vote at Forest Circle Middle School for the upcoming Nov. 7 election.
There are seven precincts in the city. These precincts are Peniel and Walterboro Nos. 1-6.
In this election, Walterboro voters from these seven precincts will determine who will become the city’s next mayor. Three of the city’s five council seats are also up for grabs. Those council members who are up for re-election are Tom Lohr, James Broderick, and Jimmy Syfrett.

Filing Information
Filing for anyone interested in running for an open seat begins on August 30th at 8 a.m. Filing closes for interested candidates on Sept. 8th. Interested candidates can apply at Walterboro City Hall, located at 242 Hampton Street in Walterboro. All required forms are located at City Hall or can be found at www.scvotes.org. The filing fee for the mayoral seat is $509.24. The filing fee for city council is $254.60.
Election details
During Thursday’s meeting, the commission also voted to use voting machines. The cost of the election is going to be about $4,000, plus an additional $306 to notify voters in No. 5 of the location change. The cost of the election has already been included in the city’s budget for the current fiscal year. This budget was recently approved by Walterboro City Council.
The election and its total costs include paying seven clerks and 17 managers to oversee the election.
Election Commission Members
During Thursday’s meeting, new Municipal Election Commission members James Rabb and Monroe Rhodes, Jr. were sworn into office. Also, commission member T. Payton Crosby was sworn in as the commission’s chairman.

Heather Walters (1492 Posts)