Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Towns expected to reinstate incumbents in Tuesday’s election

Editor’s Note: The Colletonian Newspaper has a deadline for this week’s print edition that came after the results of the Tuesday election. The exact results will be printed via social media this week and in next week’s print edition.

City Council candidates debated their platforms on Tuesday evening, Oct. 29.

Three Colleton County towns had elections on Tuesday, with all of the candidates expected to be placed into their desired seats. Additionally, the City of Walterboro held a contested council race on Tuesday, with six people vying for three open council seats.
The towns of Lodge, Cottageville, Smoaks, and Edisto Beach each held municipal elections on Tuesday. In each town, there were either no new candidates who filed for office or the existing incumbents ran uncontested.
The official results of Tuesday’s election were not ready by press deadline for this newspaper; however, the elections for each of these towns were expected to be smooth sailing for those who did file.
In Cottageville, the town’s current mayor, Tim Grimsley, ran unopposed for his seat. In addition to the mayoral spot in Cottageville, there were also two council seats up for grabs. The incumbents for both of those seats were the only people to again file, making them the anticipated winners in Tuesday’s town election. Those candidates are Chuck Hudson and Andy Sahlmann.
In the Town of Smoaks, the town’s Nov. 5th ballot included a mayoral candidate and two spots on Smoaks Town Council. Former Smoaks elected leader Joseph H. Johns, Jr. was the only candidate who filed for mayor, while two council incumbents again sought election for two council seats. Those councilmen are Linda L. Garris and Shane Campbell. Both Garris and Campbell ran unopposed for their council seats.
In Lodge, the town had two seats available on its town council. The town’s current councilmen, or incumbents, were the only two who ran for election and whose names were on the ballot. These councilmen are Joseph Varnadoe and Alex Carter.
At Edisto Beach, both the town’s current mayor and two of its current council members again sought for their seats. Incumbent Mayor Jane Darby and current Edisto Beach Town Councilmen Jerome W. Kizer and Crawford Moore were the only ones who filed for office in Tuesday’s town election.
The only contested local election happened in Walterboro. That Nov. 5th ballot included six candidates, who were each vying for one of three empty seats on Walterboro City Council. Those city council candidates were Chrissy Johnson, Judy Bridge, Paul Siegel, Ladson Fishburne, Gale Doggette, and Emma K. Levine. Bridge and Seigel are the incumbents on the city’s council.
The formal results of each of these elections will be available in the print version of this newspaper in next week’s edition.

Heather Walters (1738 Posts)