Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

SC State honors Scholarship leaders

By Cokeitha Gaddist

On Saturday, May 20, the South Carolina State University Colleton County Alumni Chapter held its second annual Scholarship Banquet at the Mt. Zion AME Church in Round O. The purpose of the banquet is to raise money to award a scholarship to a student from Colleton County who will be attending South Carolina State University in the coming fall.
This year’s $1,000 scholarship was awarded to Destiny Simone Dobinson. Dobinson is the daughter of Ms. Tamara Chisolm Dobinson and lives in Cottageville. According to presenters at the banquet, Dobinson is an all-around student, peer tutor, and class

helper. She is also a member of the Varsity Tennis Team and the Band of Blue at Colleton County High School.
Dobinson is also a member of the Photo & Digital Editing Club, the Gear UP Program and was chosen by her peers as the 2017 Homecoming Queen. Dobinson says she plans to major in Social Work and will be a member of the SC State Marching 101 Band. “I selected South Carolina State University because of its Social Work Program,” said Dobinson. “I feel that SC State will give me the education and foundation I need to fulfill my dreams of becoming a social worker,” she says.

SC State Scholarship presented to Destiny Dobison by Esther Black. Photos by Cokeitha Gaddist.

The keynote speaker of the evening was former South Carolina House of Representative and 1954 SC State graduate, Curtis B. Inabinett Sr. Inabinett is a native Colletonian and was born in Islandton. Inabinett’s list of accomplishments includes serving in the US Army and being in education for more than 30 years, 15 of which he taught at Baptist Hill High School and 17 of those years he served as Principal of R.D. Schroder Middle School. Inabinett served 11 years as Mayor of the Town of Ravenel, 10 years as a member of the South Carolina House of Representative and 6 years as a member of Charleston County Council. Inabinett started his speech by asking the question, “Why are we here?”
“We are here so our children can have the opportunity to develop their God-given talents,” said Inabinett. “We are here because we want our children to reach their greatest potential,” he said. Inabinett challenged the group to pay attention to the quality of their efforts and to develop long-range goals to prevent feeling defeated by short-term failure.
At the end of the evening, the Alumni Chapter presented a final award of the night to Mr. Franklin R. Smalls. Smalls received the Chapter Achievement Award in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments and immeasurable contributions to the community, to education and to SC State University.
Central Williams, Chapter President announced that the next SC State Alumni Chapter meeting will be on Tuesday, May 23 at 6:00 pm at the Colleton County Library. “We will elect new officers for the next two years and report information that the University President shared at the National Alumni Meeting,” said William.


Cokeitha Gaddist (67 Posts)