Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Local Election Results

In local races:

Democrat Andy Strickland is our new Sheriff. He won over Republican challenger Marshall Morehead by a margin of 8,969 to 7,849.

In a somewhat surprising election result, Colleton County School Board District One member Angie Bryan lost her seat to challenger Charles Murdaugh by a margin of 909 to 534.  School Board District Five incumbent Mary Jones won over challenger Mackey Williams by a tally of 806 to 330.School Board District Seven incumbent William Bowman Jr. beat challenger Tony Chubb by a vote of 1,118 to 645. and Incumbent School Board District Three incumbent P.A. Pournelle III ran unopposed.

County Council Eastern District 23 incumbent Phillip Taylor Sr. beat challenger David Stanfield by a margin of 5.496 to 3,255. Incumbent County Council Western District 45 member Joe Flowers ran unopposed.

Incumbent 114th Judicial Circuit Solicitor ran unopposed. Colleton County Clerk of Court Patricia Grant ran unopposed. Colleton County Coroner Richard Harvey ran unopposed. Willow Swamp Watershed District 36 incumbent Bryan Crosby ran unopposed.

In multi-county races in which Colleton County residents are represented, South Carolina House of Representatives District  97, incumbent Patsy Knight won over challenger Ed Carter By a vote of 8,253 to 6,823. Locally, however, Carter won out over Knight, 541-432.

S.C. House District 1 incumbent Tim Scott won over challengers Bobbie Rose and Keith Blandford. Scott garnered 163,068 votes, Rose got 87,842 votes, and Blandford received 5,780 votes. Locally, Scott received 540 votes, Rose garnered 97 votes, and Blandford got 9 votes.

S.C. House District 6 incumbent Jim Clyburne beat challenger Nammu Y. Muhammad by a vote of 183,253-10,871. Locally, Clyburne garnered 11,737 votes and Muhammad received 934.

S.C. House District 90 incumbent Bakari Sellers beat out challenger Dan Lawrence by a margin of 8,273 to 6,713. Locally, however, Lawrence beat Sellers by a margin of 3,986-3,094.

Incumbent State House District 23 Representative Kenneth Hodges, and District 116 incumbent Robert L. Brown ran unopposed.


State Senate District 45 incumbent Clementa Pinckney defeated challenger Leilani Bessinger by a vote of 26,059-13,085. Locally, Pinckney won by 4,721-1,918. Senate District 39 incumbent John Matthews, District 40 incumbent Brad Hutto, and District 43 incumbent Chip Campsen all ran unopposed.