Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Fielder named Teacher of the Year

A Cottageville Elementary School teacher has been selected as the district’s overall teacher of the year.
Sarah Fielder is the 2019-2020 Colleton County School District Teacher of the Year. She was announced as the district’s teacher of the year during the recent August 16th back to school bash.
Fielder is currently a third-grade teacher at Cottageville Elementary School. A panel of her peers chose her. “Every minute you have with your student matters,” she said. “It is important to give them 100-percent when you are with them in your classroom. I strive to create a positive, loving, and safe classroom environment for all of my students.”
In addition to Fielder being named as the district’s teacher of the year, school district officials also chose the district’s Support Employee of the Year: Amy Kilpatrick. Kilpatrick is a PowerSchool secretary at Colleton County Middle School and has worked for five years with the Colleton County School District.
“I feel blessed to be in the position I am in, surrounded by people who make me realize how important it is to be committed to making a difference in the lives of others,” she said, in a written statement.
Lastly, school district officials have also selected Kendall Hogan and Cameron Warner as Colleton’s Rookie Teachers of the year. Hogan is a teacher at Bells Elementary School, and Warner is a teacher at Northside Elementary School.
A teacher of the year was selected from each school in the Colleton County School District. Felder, who was chosen as the teacher of the year for Cottageville Elementary, was then selected from this candidate pool as the overall district teacher of the year.
The remaining teachers of the year from each school within the district are: Matthew Lutton, from Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center; Shelby Daniels from Hendersonville Elementary School; Melissa O’Quinn from Colleton County Middle School; Melissa Warren from Black Street Elementary School; Amy Cook, from Bells Elementary School; Michelle Phillips from Northside Elementary School; Shanon Bowden from Forest Hills Elementary School; and Emily Towey from Colleton County High School.

Heather Walters (1670 Posts)