Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

End of summer camp finale was impressive

Family members and friends of the children who participated in the Coco Rec Summer Camp were treated to quite a performance Thursday evening. The youths marched in the Recreation Center’s gymnasium marching and singing to “We are Family,” a popular song originally recorded by Sister Sledge in 1979.

Forty children from ages four through twelve enjoyed eight weeks of their summer at “Summer Camp at the Rec,” a program held at the Colleton County Recreation Center that provided educational activities, recreational exercise, and field trips. The theme of this year’s camp was “Teamwork, that’s our style at summer camp.”

The program continued with the Pledge of Allegiance, led by Jeremiah Armstrong, and a moment of silence, led by Cierra Stallings. Tariq Hookin then welcomed the audience to the program.

Campers next sang a number called “Rap of the States. After an introduction by T. J. Reeves, Group A did a fine rendition of “She’ll be Comin’ Round the Mountain.” After an introductory statement by Jontasia Ford, Group B then performed with the song “3-C’s Rap and “Music of the Sun.” After an introduction by Ja’Miya Brown, Group B and C then sang “The Greatest Love of All.” The song was first recorded by George Benson in 1977, and then sung by the late Whitney Houston at the 1986 Grammy Awards presentation.

Remarks, presentations, and acknowledgements were then given by Camp Director Darlene Cummings and other staff members.

The program ended with a performance by Barbara Washington, who sang “Watching Over You,”a song originally recorded by Alter Bridge. She also performed an African dance.

The campers consisted of:

Group A: Olivia Capers, Taylor Ford, Alex Formhals, Janae Grant, T. J. Reeves, Marissa Sherry, Jayden Smalls, Kailyn Cook, Nicholas Jackson, Rylynn Stalling, Justin Grant, and Donyelle Chisolm.

Group B: Jeremiah Armstrong, Ja’Miya Brown, Jasmine Doby, Joshua Doby, Kadaries Ford, Jameira Johnson, Jaylan Johnson, Jaden Poe, Zakiyah Spence, Cierra Stalling, Joy Washington, Michael Williams, Caron Slather, Jilaysha Brown, Jontasia Ford, and Ericko Harley, Jr.

Group C: Travis Buckner, Anthony Crimely, Dustin Tripp, Allen Washington, Carlise Washington, Brian Martensen, Tariq Hoofin, Adryan Smith, Kyle Gluck, James Brown, Sebastian Shelly, and TyNisha Harley.

Camp Counselors were: Director, Darlene Cummings; Assistant Director and Journalist, Anita Green; Academics, Iris Edwards; Physical Education, Brandon Williams; Arts & Crafts, Lauren Barrett; Structured Activities, Mary Sherill; and Music, Cynthia Richardon.