Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

City Filing Closes, Six Names To Be On Ballot

Four people are now officially vying for three soon-to-be-open seats on Walterboro City Council.

Incumbent Councilmen James Broderick and Jimmy Syfrett are again running for their non-partisan council seats. In addition to these two residents, political newcomers Greg Pryor and Ben Mitchell have also filed to run for public office. Pryor was the first to file on August 30th.

The three open council seats are currently being filled by sitting Councilmen Broderick and Syfrett, along with incumbent Tom Lohr.

In addition to the city’s council races, the city’s mayoral seat is also up for grabs. To date, two people have filed for the mayoral office. Incumbent Mayor Bill Young is running again for the position. He is being challenged by Walterboro resident Marguerite Chrissy Johnson.

Young has been the elected mayor of Walterboro since 2009. Prior to taking the city’s top leadership spot, he sat on Walterboro City Council consecutively from 1989 to his appointment as mayor in 2009. He is a retired band instructor for the Colleton County Band of Blue, and is an active community member in various organizations and civic groups.

Johnson owns Johnson Insurance Agency. According to her, she and her family have been Walterboro residents for “180 years.”

“I raised my children here,” she said. “I believe our city has become more of a tourist town than a place to raise our children. I want to change that.”

Johnson said she wants more activities for youth and for families to be able to stay local. “Something as simple as a boys and girls club or Chucky Cheese, we need that here, and I believe I can help do this,” she said.

Filing for all of the city’s open seats ended at noon on Sept. 8th.

Walterboro City Council’s general election will be held in November. In addition to Walterboro’s municipal election, municipal elections for the towns of Lodge and Cottageville and Edisto Beach are also slated for November.

As for Edisto Beach, the town’s non-partisan election will be held on Nov. 7th. Two sitting incumbents have filed to run again for their standing seats. These Councilwomen are Susan Hornsby and Patti Smyer.

As of filing deadline for the seats, no other residents have filed for the two offices at Edisto.

The Colletonian Newspaper will continue to provide candidate information and election coverage in the coming issues.

Heather Walters (1304 Posts)